Dear Howley’s, I love you.

Dear Howley’s,

Thank you for always being there for me when I needed you the most. You were always there for me when the midnight monster cravings strike after a night out downtown. You were always there for me on a Sunday morning when I was craving a crab hash. And you have always been there for me on a chill Friday night when I didn’t feel like dressing up for some grub.

Oh hey guys…didn’t see you there. Awkward. Anyways if you are catching the vibe that I am having a love affair with a restaurant, you might be right, but Howley’s isn’t just any restaurant. I know, that’s what they all say. Trust me on this one, though. Howley’s is the real deal. If you are looking for an old school diner with delicious food and an awesome craft beer rotation, this is going to be your jam.

Howley’s is an old school diner with a new school vibe. I guess you would say, it’s where the hipsters eat. I won’t take offense. This is definitely the type of joint you would see featured on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives. Where you at, Guy Fieri?! Also, remember the subculture group that owns DADA? Yeah, you guessed it, they own Howley’s too.

Howley’s is a West Palm Beach gem. The outside of the building is painted with murals from local artists and the restaurant walls inside are decorated with art work for sale. If you come at a peak time, you may have to find parking across the street, but you will have time to play a round of golf on the putting green out front!

Let’s get to the food. The chef is always coming up with a creative dish, but there are many good staples on the menu. They also have an all day breakfast menu, if that is what you fancy.

Some of our favorites for breakfast include the Southern Egg Benedict which is made with cornbread and pulled pork and the Crab Hash which is served with toast and bacon. BACON!

img_1670
Southern Egg Benedict
img_1671
Howley’s Crab Hash

For lunch or dinner we love to try the chef’s special. The last time we went for dinner the special was a tator tot waffle with pulled pork, sautéed onions, coleslaw and a side of apple sauce. Yeah, you heard me…a tator tot waffle. YASSS!

img_1248
Chef’s special: Tator Tot Waffle with Pulled Pork

My husband loves to order the Brady’s Brisket Patata Burrito which is stuffed with slow roasted brisket, mashed potatoes, black beans, salsa and cheddar cheese. It is then smothered with more cheese and topped off with a fried egg. Yeah, crazy.

img_1238
Brady’s Brisket Patata Burrito

They also have a TV dinner special for dinner which changes daily. I have not had the pleasure of ordering one yet!

A few more notable mentions, but not pictured, my bad:

  • The B.L.T. with fried green tomatoes (you have to ask the waitress to have the kitchen make it with fried green tomatoes)
  • The low country egg rolls which are made with that famous pulled pork and collard cream cheese. Sounds weird, but it is oddly delicious.
  • The breakfast quesadillas which are made with scrambled eggs, bacon, cheddar cheese and salsa

Listen, if you end up having a love affair with Howley’s, I won’t judge ya. Just don’t blame me! 🙂

If you go:
4700 S Dixie Hwy, West Palm Beach, FL 33405
Hours of operation: Sun-Thurs 7am-2am and Fri-Sat 7am-5am
Parking: In rear or across the street in front of Phipps Park

Leave a comment